Review: “Self Titled” by Nemesism

A history of violence and a long list of prior convictions means that there is a reputation that precedes the four horsemen of the apocalypse that is Nemesism even though they are a new band. Released from their straight jackets to walk the streets of Las Vegas Navada once more, Andrew LoMastro (Cerebral Incubation) on vocals, Randall Thompson (Euphegenia, ex Guttural Secrete) on Guitars, Bruno Macias Quezada (Foul Deformity, ex Guttural Secrete) on Bass and Michael Fitzgerald (ex Guttural Secrete) on Drums are plotting our demise. For the purpose they have returned to the tried, tested and proven Ryan Wechta (Cerebral Incubation, Guttural Secrete, Invirulant) who recorded, mixed and mastered their debut encounter, coupled with haunting artwork created by Bahrull Marta (Asagraum, Centinex, Illdisposed)…

There can be no disputing the chemistry between the members that comprise Nemesism as it rears its ugly head almost immediately with “Mindful Abomination” finding LoMastro sounding like the spawn of Deicide mastermind Glen Benton and against the hellscape of brooding, sinister and menacing music that reaches and touches the void between Brutal Death Metal and Technical Death Metal. There are haunting and also harrowing pieces of atmosphere as well that give the cut a claustrophobic dimension before “Absolved in the Abyss” opens up the arteries and allows the blood to flow free. Fitzgerald delivers blast beats and then rampaging fills with style, grace and dexterity at breakneck pace to keep the band on their toes while the click-y bass sound is allowed to bleed out into the mix from Quezada to create another dimension in wave after wave of vicious attack. By the time that tsunami is over LoMastro has become almost indecipherable, this vocals on Constricting the Ambient Noise” reaching the point that his throat is simply and instrument and a monocle and lyric sheet are needed to break the code. He does however have some shriller, cleaner uncleans he uses to break that up which would be interesting to hear as a verse or chorus rather than simply phrasing between the savage, larynx threatening gutterals. “Terminal Spreading Depolarization” is equally as tectonic plate rumbling, an onslaught of off kilter rhythms with astounding intricacy hidden beneath the weight of the vocals and the restless and relentless kit work. The real surprise however is “Delusions of Morality” which packs an unexpected blast charge of Groove within its dark confines, continuing the creative and adventurous streak of the record in dismembering fashion. The lethal dose of American hatred however comes with the final moments, the sound of white noise akin to the plague winds sweeping the barren hostile wasteland Nemesism have left in their wake is a masterstroke of eerie horrification. There is no rest, there is no release and best of all resistance is futile [8/10]

Track Listing

  1. Mindful Abomination
  2. Absolved in the Abyss
  3. Constricting the Ambient Noise
  4. Terminal Spreading Depolarization
  5. Delusions of Morality

Self Titled” by Nemesism is out 31st January 2023 and should be available over at bandcamp.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *