Tag: Iron Monkey

The Black Map #131: Blight Town from Nottingham!

Nottingham is one of those cities with a rich heritage when it comes to Metal. Obviously you’ve got the likes of Pitchshifter, Iron Monkey and Earthtone9 but you’ve also got a thriving underground scene with Miscreant and Blight Town shining lights. Who are Blight Town we hear you cry? They’re a Progressive Post Hardcore outfit

Review: “Ram” by Charlene Beretah

Hailing from Neuchâtel in Switzerland Charlene Beretah started out as a duo in 2014 before evolving into a three piece for three years later. Writing music that crosses over Sludge, Doom, Black Metal and even Crust Punk, the trio release their debut full length with five songs of Progressive Metal length. Guitarist vocalist Arnaud is

Review: “You Took the Sun When You Left” by Leeched

Having witnessed Manchester Hardcore trio Leeched deliver a skull crushing performance at UK Tech-Fest this summer, it seemed only fitting that we review their debut full length album which appeared on 24th August via Prosthetic Records. Formed in 2017, the band have made great strides in a short space of time and “You took the

Bootleg: Iron Monkey at Nottingham Rescue Rooms!

Filmed on 13th April at Nottingham Rescue Rooms, here’s a full set from Iron Monkey! Playing as a 4 piece with ex-Raging Speedhorn & Hard To Swallow frontman Bloody Kev handling Jim Rushby’s vocals, this is a brilliant set from the returning sludge metal kings! The bands album “9-13” is out now via Relapse Records.

The Black Map #6 Iron Monkey from Nottingham!

15 years after the death of original frontman Johnny Morrow in 2002, Nottingham’s legendary sludge metallers Iron Monkey returned to the fray in 2017 as a trio. Orignally formed in 1994 from members of other bands as a side project, the band recorded and released a self titled EP at saw re-issue via Earache Records

NEWS: Iron Monkey announce a trio of April tour dates!

The newly re-activated sludge-metalers Iron Monkey from Nottingham have announced a trio of UK tour dates in April 2018. Their new album “9-13” is out now via Relapse Records. It’s the bands first album since 1999 following then frontman Johnny Morrow’s fatal heart attack in 2002. The re-activated band features then guitarist Jim Rushby on vocals