Listmania: 20th Anniversary of Trivium!

Orlando Florida Metallers Trivium are celebrating their 20th Anniversary this year having formed in 1999! Signing to Roadrunner Records just 5 years later in 2004 with second album “Ascendancy” the band have gone from strength to strength, receiving a Grammy nomination for single “Betrayer” from their 8th studio album “The Sin And The Sentence”. So to celebrate, we’ve put our heads together and come up with our favourite 5 tunes from them…

1. “Pillars of Serpents”

Written and Recorded when frontman and guitarist Matt Heafy was just 17 years old with legendary producer Jason Suecof at the helm, as solid a start as “From Ember To Inferno” is as an album, this is the stand out cut!

2. “Like Light To The Flies”

The first single and music video from their 2005 major label debut “Ascendency” turned a lot of heads. The album won Kerrang! Magazines album of the year in 2005 and appears in Metal Hammer’s top 100 greatest Metal albums of the 21st Century. The tune that got us hooked to the band.

3. “Kirsute Gomen”

After the challenges of “The Crusade”, Trivium returned with arguably their most ambitious and technically challenging album to date in “Shogun” in 2008. Having the legendary Colin Richardson doing the mixing was a masterstroke and the albums opener told us they were back, with a bang!

4. “In Waves”

The title track of what is for us the quartet’s masterpiece saw a change in the drumming department with Travis Smith bowing out to be replaced by Nick Augusto. Again working with Colin Richardson, this time in the Producers chair, for us it’s the finest cut for their finest hour (and a bit)!

5. “The Revanchist”

Changing drummers once again and bringing in former Battlecross man Alex Bent reinvigorated Trivium. 2017’s “The Sin And The Sentence” harbours many a fine tune with 7 string guitars in full flow, but it’s the more progressive leaning cut that leads the way for us!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *