Review: “Forsaken Dynasty” by Blasphemous Creation

Hailing from Reno Nevada, Blasphemous Creation are a Thrash Metal infused Death Metal quartet who have been crafting their sound since 2006. In that time the quartet, who now consist of Isaac Wilson (vocals, guitar), Joe Amos (guitar), TJ Taughlin (bass, backing vocals) and Evan Richardson (drums) have gone through a couple of line up changes but retain the line up from 2015’s “The Rise Of Marduk” and cite influences in Kreator, Sodom, God Dethroned and even Carcass.

The narrative of “Forsaken Dynasty” as a concept album is laid bare in an opening spoke word which depict Ancient Egypt as the home of Gods and Aliens who battle in space before the onslaught of “The Architect” tears a hole in the space time continuum. A nostalgic 80’s Thrash guitar tone is accompanied by throat splitting Death Metal vocals from Wilson, while Richardson’s percussive performance blends that pair of styles with momentary bursts of Black Metal which raise the hairs on the back of your neck and get the blood pumping. The recording itself is a little raw, lacking the crispness of a higher budget studio but it doesn’t effect the quality on show here. Instead, the material sounds like it was recorded nostalgically in the early 80s on a four track and that gives it a unique charm, as if a time capsule has been unearthed. The gallop of “World Encircler” has a hint of a Power Metal influence, perhaps even Iron Maiden in the mix which makes you want to raise your Medieval Goblet of beer in triumph and bang your head.

The soaring solo work of “Red Serpent“, which is fully loaded with a powerful percussive performance from Richardson is a rampaging typhoon of a track which could run away into an extended epic mid track riff-a-thon live, should the mood take the quartet is an absolute pleasure that perhaps mercifully isn’t allowed to do that here. Instead that is spared for “Technological Engima” which has a face melter of a solo between verses of pure evil from Wilson, his raspy vocal tones a lethal dosage of pure venom. When “Vindication Scourge” comes in, it’s like listening to Nekrogoblikon playing a Metallica cover minus the synths. The dueling guitars are perfectly syncopated with Folk Metal rhythm underneath the pure all out shred attack.

By the time “All Seeing Eye” reaches us we’re wondering how Wilson is able to summon the energy to play guitar and do the vocal parts together live. It’s one with a breathtaking relentless energy to it and some leads that require serious dexterity to pull off, not to mention the blistering Black Metal fills. In order to do this justice live, everything is going to have to be left on the stage and that is something that can be said of “Lioness Rage” as well. A jaw dropping cut with a slight echo effect on the vocals during a sing-a-long chorus and no doubt get a circle pit during the extended solo. After the tale of bloodshed at the hands of the ultimate weapon that is the “Crimson Sceptre“, the relentlessness returns with another high energy incendiary cut in “Ascension Toward Eternity“, a finale befitting the album that musically at least summarizes the bands sound on the record and would make for a fine single. “Forsaken Dynasty” is a Metal version of a Rock Opera, Blasphemous Creation following the imprint of “Powerslave” by Iron Maiden for example, telling a tale that rides along a wonderfully cohesive narrative but has the benefit that all of the tracks work in isolation [8/10]

Track listing

  1. Forsaken Dynasty
  2. The Architect
  3. World Encircler
  4. Red Serpent
  5. Technological Enigma
  6. Vindication Scourge
  7. All Seeing Eye
  8. Lioness Rage
  9. Crimson Sceptre
  10. Ascension Toward Eternity

Forsaken Dynasty” by Blasphemous Creation is out 20th August 2021 and available over at bandcamp.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *